Is it good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world?

Some people argue that sharing information with others is a good thing in business, academic world and scientific research; while, other believe that few information is too essential to share. In this essay, both the viewpoints are discussed. On the one hand, providing information helps experts to understand human being better. The submitted data can be classified for various uses, such as observing public reaction during a situation and analysing symptoms while suffering from a disease, in a scientific research. Secondly, the experience of customers with a company’s product or service can help the company to improve their development. For example, numerous restaurants worldwide asks their guests to fill out a feedback form which includes factors, like ambience, hygiene, food quality, service and music, so that the restaurant can change to the great enhancement. Thirdly, degrees like psychology utilize people’s details to interpret and solve some of society’s challenging problems. Thus, supplying information can be useful to a great extent. On the other hand, there are facts which cannot be pass on like government data. It consists of military secrets and intelligence reports. IF it is clued to rival countries then they can gain an unfair advantage. Additionally, sensitive information, like financial statements and medical records are private to every individual and cannot be transmitted without consent. Moreover, personal data like address, phone number, email address and password should also be kept confidential as they are part of identification of a person. Lastly, trade secrets of a company like product formulas, manufacturing processes and marketing strategies are considered to be possessions of the company which are exclusive in nature. For instance, Cadbury Dairy Milk chocolate’s exact formula has never been disclosed. Therefore, some data is too valuable to transfer. To conclude, sharing can be functional in several areas but there has to be a limit to it. Hence, I believe, general information such as feedbacks can do no harm but private information such as address should be secured.