Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Whilst certain individuals argue that university students should pay attention and invest their time in a specific subject in order to get a qualification, I believe that individuals are free to learn about other categories in addition to their major because it will serve multiple advantages to the following pupil. On the one hand, putting all one ’s effort into their certain study will help enhance and nurture the student's skills. It is undeniable that when someone spends a lot of time working on and learning about something, they will gain more experience in that very matter and as a result be more professional and skilled at that very subject. For instance, a student who focused on learning about the depths and basics of Physics for a considerable amount of time will most certainly score higher and have a better understanding of the study compared to a graduate who didn’t focus on or spend as much time as the other. However, only learning one subject and paying attention to it more than the others might limit the person’s knowledge of other matters. This is because when individual focuses on only one thing, they will neglect the other things in order to flourish their current skills and consequently know less about the topics that they didn’t spend much time on Therefore, while they are excellent and exceeding at one subject, they might be really weak and barely passing another and have fluctuating grades throughout every other subject. To illustrate, there are many students who may have perfect scores and straight A’s in one field, topping their class every time and always participating in that very class. Nevertheless, if they have marks that are below average in other subjects, they will not pass the year in comparison to a student who scores barely higher than average in all fields. In conclusion, although it is reasonable that focusing on a subject will help you excel in that very field, I firmly believe that only concentrating on a specific field may limit what you know about other matters as the individual may neglect the studies and research of subjects that don’t relate to their major.