Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In these modern days, there is a behaviour of spending time using a smartphone among several children. Actually, this situation can lead to both positive and negative development depending on how to face this case. However, from my point of view, it is a negative development that can have several consequences and impacts. In this particular essay, this statement will be discussed. To begin with, the advancement of technology cannot be avoided in people's life, nowadays. Smartphones are one of the innovations that can reach all generations, including young ages. Smartphones have the ability to give a lot of entertainment through applications installed inside the smartphone, for,example online games (Mobile Legend, PUBG), movie streaming (Netflix, Youtube), and social media (Instagram, Facebook). The entertainment on the smartphone can make young ages forget about the time when they were playing with a smartphone. Therefore, the use of smartphones among teenagers needs to have more attention from adults, such as giving a rule of duration when they are playing a smartphone. It is because smartphones have the capacity to affect them in the aspects of health, and social skills. For example, as the health aspect, when youngster spends hours on their smartphones every day, they will experience an illness in their eyes that lead to them using glasses. In addition, the long duration of kids playing with a smartphone can affect their lack of social skills since they are mostly spending their time on the smartphone instead of making a connection to people in real life. To summarize, the phenomenon of spending hours every day on the smartphone among some children is caused by the entertainment that smartphones provide. However, smartphones can affect children in the aspect of eye illness and lack of social skills. Therefore, I believe wholeheartedly that this case is a negative development.