In many cities the use of video camera (CCTV) at public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that measures restrict individual’s freedom. Do the benefits of these CCTV cameras outweigh the drawbacks?

In the contemporary age, increasingly cities’ governments decided to install surveillance in public places so as to reduce illegal activities, Some advocate such acts restricting the general public’s freedom. I firmly believe that citizens benefit more from this action rather than perceive the drawbacks. Admittedly, being under video cameras yields uncomfortableness to someone, as it produces an impression of being under observation so that some cannot behave as they usually do. However, the monitor facilities are set in public areas instead of private spaces, as well as the construction of the shared settings is for the convenience and safety of the public instead of the individual. As a result, people are allowed to profit from their full freedom in personal spheres, while in collective spaces, even without security cameras, individuals still cannot escape from the attention of their surroundings. However, the utilization of central monitoring possesses notable functions in terms of reducing illegal activities and damage to public settings, which facilitates the whole civic body. In other words, the images captured by video equipment not only can accelerate the speed of solving criminal cases but also deter potential offenders. Furthermore, sabotage behaviours like scrawling, posting advertisements, and engaging in inappropriate sanitation actions also can be confined by surveillance, since their acts are recorded and might receive a fine from the authority. In conclusion, even though the installation of CCTVs brings in-commodity for the general public’s life, the provided advantage complements the loss. Only when the decision-makers and the citizens view and use this technology appropriately we can achieve the goal of building a civilized and sustainable society for all individuals.