In order to study at the university, students are required to pay expensive tuition fees. Not all students can afford them so some people think that university education should be free for everyone. To what extent do you agree?

University education costs are priced and not affordable for citizens so according to some, university should be free for all students regardless of their background. I will challenge this school of thought because of an illogical idea and, therefore, it should be offered only to certain individuals. Granted, one might argue that giving no fees at university means that students will no longer have to work at the same time as studying to cover their expenses. This is predicated on the assumption that almost all people studying in America or the UK have to work both full-time and part-time due to high standard living costs abroad. However, this line of reason is not sound because it fails to factor in putting tremendous burden financial on government. Since universities have no income and consequently, they would rely completely on the state of funding which means taking funds from other much needed areas such as the health system, the transportations or the elderly services. On the same perspective, some advocates suppose that providing free higher learning will increase the universalization of education in a country which gives qualified staff and skilled professionals who benefit all the aspects of the society, especially in economics. For instance, some European countries such as Germany or Finland applied no tuition charge for their citizens, leading to a high rate of education and high average income per capita. Nevertheless, if the government offers free higher education for all, students might take it for granted and start to avoid their duties even so they are interested or not resulting in neglecting and not focusing on their studies as they will not lose any expenses for their education. To conclude, providing free university education can help a nation achieve greater heights in terms of education level and economy, but it may come with a price of students not taking the free education seriously because of not having to pay any fees.