Some people say that only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of individuals present the view that the sole aim of studying a foreign language is for traveling or employment possibilities in other countries, whereas others believe there are other motivations for learning a new language. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. To begin with, the advancement in technology and globalization have enabled humans to be more connected than ever before and numerous people are willing to interact with others and make friends since they believe it brings them the opportunity to broaden their horizons through being exposed to the new culture and customs. Thus, some people justifiably argue that being familiar with a foreign language plays a primary role in this matter and explains why people learn a new language aside from pleasure or business. To clarify, there are several applications that make it possible to know people globally and if you learned English, which is the most spoken language in the world, you would be able to know new individuals and their culture. On the other hand, another group of people claim that learning a non-native language is vital to traveling overseas or seeking job opportunities since if a person does not know the destination language, they would encounter major communication problems and therefore language barrier can be frustrating. For instance, when someone moves abroad to apply for a new job, on the first days, they need to fill out applications and do paperwork for a visa or when a tourist travels to a country for pleasure, they have to find addresses, book hotels, etc. Unquestionably, all of these tasks require proficiency in that foreign language, and from their point of view that’s the only purpose of studying a new language. In a nutshell, in my view, a person can learn a foreign language not only for employment possibilities or touristic purposes but also one’s can benefit from a new language to gain insight into a new culture and meet new people.