It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Many nations have been facing an issue of low enrolment rates in science. This is because the science-related subjects themselves are considered hard-to-achieve ones, and promotions of the learning outcomes of such majors tend to be insufficient. If this situation persists, society will not be able to advance its development ladder. One of the reasons why there are inadequate students choosing science-related majors is that these subjects are perceived by many as difficult ones to master. They require students to have a strong maths foundation and spend extra time doing self-learning in order to attain desirable learning outcomes, which is not a fun thing that most adolescents love to do. Furthermore, there have not been sufficient promotions of the important roles played by science to improve society. When limited successful stories of scientists or other professionals closely related and their applications of the new inventions are available and spread like wildfire, not many students would be aware of the expected outcomes they can get if they choose to study STEM. Take Cambodia as an example. With limited or no campaigns on STEM learning outcomes, not many students are inspired to study STEM. With this situation taking place, it would be difficult for society to move upward the development ladder. Without innovations through scientific research, there will be no tools or technologies to smoothen the performance of the individual workforce. Imagine if there had not been the Internet, human communication would not be as convenient as it is today. Hence, it is imperative that countries need to build human resources in the STEM field in order for them to transform the countries into developed ones. In conclusion, the causes why the STEM enrolment rate is persistently low are due to the subjects' perceived difficulty as well as limited awareness-raising campaigns done to promote the essence of science, while the effect would be that the countries will lag behind in their quests to become economically advanced nations.