What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by the government and individuals to solve this problem.

It is often considered that plastic pollution has adverse effects on the environment and the government should take measurable steps in order to tackle this issue. This essay will further examine the problems and causes of this issue and in the end, the solutions to tackle this issue will be provided. On the one hand, it is true that pollution has adverse effects on the environment. Firstly, plastic pollution poses a severe and irreversible threat to animals which exerts detrimental impacts on them and even risks their lives. For example, plastic waste which is usually thrown into oceans and seas causes harm to marine life such as whales. A recent survey conducted by a renowned organization claims that a large number of whales die every year due to plastic pollution. Additionally, the overuse of plastic is a serious threat to society and causes immense damage to society. Moreover, this also leads to the contamination of oceans and seas. It is undoubtedly true that global warming has excessive demerits and proper measures should be taken to mitigate these problems. To tackle this issue, the government authorities and citizens should collectively work together to mitigate these issues. In other words, the consumption of plastic should be limited to some extent. In addition to this, the government should ban excessive use of plastic bags. Moreover, they should be replaced by recyclable bags. Since plastic is extremely harmful to the environment and is a serious threat to biodiversity, it needs to be controlled by taking measurable steps. For example, plastic should not be thrown into seas and oceans. In conclusion, plastic pollution causes immense damage to the environment and therefore, leads to various problems which should be mitigated by the authorities and citizens.