In many countries, traditional dress and costumes are considered effective way of maintaining links with the past. How effective can traditional costumes be, in this sense? What other ways exist to help citizens with a country's past?

In the world, each country has its own dress and costumes. People think that traditional clothes are important for remembering our past, actually that is true costumes are one part of doing this but not the most important, as we shall see. First, historic dress plays a key role in social events such as military parades, and historical days. The traditional dress shows each country's origin of cultural traditions and mythologies, for instance,the Azerbaijan woman's traditional costume is called chadra which is made of bright colour silk. Those colours represented folk's emotions such as happiness, and sadness. However, it must be said that costumes are an accessory in this situation, and are not enough. The traditional ceremony needs to use ancient things which is the society remembers the ancient times.In Azerbaijan these kind of ceremonies people use traditional clothes, foods, music, places, and instruments. For example, Azerbaijan's traditional music is called mugham. To sing this music people need instruments like tar, and saz and these instruments are also Azerbaijan's ancient and traditional instruments. That is why people who watched this ceremony remember their childhood. In conclusion, they must recognize and welcome the use of traditional dress in helping to maintain their cultures. Those who prepare social and historical events must create this environment. That is why this kind of event mostly uses music, food and costumes. It is one of the biggest factors in the place where the events are held. That is why it is important to choose the right place.