Some people think it is one of the best ways to solve environmental problems by increasing the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental pollution is a major threat that society is confronting now. Some are of the opinion that raising the price of fuel of cars and other vehicles will help. They believe that this move would prevent people from buying and using cars, which will minimize the hazardous effects on pollution. I think this idea is baseless. There are many other practical solutions to the problem. In the forthcoming paragraphs, I shall explain why this is not an effective move and outline the alternatives. Primarily, increasing the cost of fuel has dangerous consequences. Transportation costs will increase, which means the prices of essential commodities will increase. The value of the rupee will start depreciating, which is of grave concern. There are several alternative measures that could be taken rather than increasing fuel costs. For instance, biodiesel, a renewable fuel made from vegetable oils and animal fats, could be advocated. Electric cars are another option. Fuel from hydrogen, natural gas, propane, or liquefied petroleum gas are also effective fuel alternatives. All these emit low levels of gases into the atmosphere. Increase in fuel prices is a sign of a weak economy. Banks may increase lending rates. It is an indirect tax burden on the citizens of the country. It is an indirect hint of our situation to the global community, and we may be forced to yield to interests of superior powers. The cost of living will increase. As a result, businesses will cut down costs which will lead to an economic recession. Even though it is true that we have to reduce using cars that pollute the environment, resorting to alternative sources of energy is more of a win-win situation. In conclusion, raising fuel costs will not solve environmental problems. Instead, awareness of alternate sources of petrol should be created, and people should be encouraged to use them.