Some people think that governments should spend money for faster public transportation, others think that there are other important priorities (e.g. cost, environment). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that public transportation has an indispensable role to play in daily life. Therefore, some people harbour a belief that governmental expenditure should be invested in faster mass traffic, whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is a very controversial issue that deserves an in-depth discussion, and a conclusion will be drawn. Initially, one of the main arguments in its favour is that the need for high-speed transportation considerably increases nowadays. As crowds tend to spend less time in traffic when travelling or working than in the past, efficient transit is sharply essential not only to uplift people's life qualities but also to boost the industry of tourism. Moreover, the construction of transportation is intensively associated with the economic status of a country which will catch the eyes of the world and even result in international collaboration. Take the Taiwan High-Speed Rail for instance, it shortens the traffic time in the western part of Taiwan and improves convenience for both tourists and residents. In addition, it is also a salient example of international cooperation between Taiwan and Japan. These indicate that the investment in transit indeed brings some positive effects. At the other end of the spectrum, there are other priorities like environment, health, economics and so on for development.Considering sustainable development, there is a growing tendency for individuals to long for comprehensive progress. Take environmental issues for example, it is imperative that governments should provide safe and healthy environments to the public. Therefore, how to reduce pollution and the dangers of surroundings are also pivotal. There still exist lots of important aspects that require political attention besides transportation. To sum up, despite the fact that spending on traffic construction is vital to a country, the importance of other proportions cannot be ignored. Thus, the authorities should consider the long-term benefits of their expenditure to best serve the interests of their citizens.