in many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. to what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of senior citizens in many parts of the world. This might be due to the appropriate health promotion strategies, improved treatments for diseases, and better understanding among people about how to live healthy lifestyles. Some people believe that increased number of the elderly can benefit the society, while others argue that the phenomenon creates more problems for the governments. I am one of those who believe in the latter and i will support this idea with some evidence in this following essay. It is argued by some individuals that aging population contributes to the development of the societies in several ways. For example, older people have experienced more in their careers and lives, so they are more likely to perform more strategically and carefully in their jobs than their younger counterpart. Moreover, they seniors can teach the young about their expertises. The societies with more older people are also less likely to have accidents related to dangerous behaviours, for example, driving too fast on the streets, excessive alcohol consumption, and drug abuse, which are seen more frequently in areas with younger generation. On the other hand, the disadvantages of aging society seem to outweigh the previously mentioned benefits. This is seen in the rising trend of hospitalizations in areas with more older people, as well as the increased prevalence of chronic diseases. When there are less younger people to take care of the elders, they are more likely to have accidents including falls and fractures. Poorer memory and cognition also make the old more prone to getting lost or harmed by those who want to take advantage of them. Mental health among the elders also becomes a great concern for the seniors who live alone. Furthermore, this population might be too old to used labour, or their focus might not be clear and quick enough to work in monetary or major businesses. In conclusion, aging population is becoming prevalent in many countries. This leads to more risks than benefits to the society so the government should have maneuvers to protect this population and ensure their living conditions are safe and appropriate. Meanwhile, steps should be taken to reinforce people to have more children in these societies and the authorities should provide proper living conditions for people of all age groups.