The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports is believed, by many people, to be the best way to promote collaboration among children at school. However, considering there are many alternatives where pupils can work with each other, it is excessive to say that sports are the most effective way to encourage teamwork. Essentially, team sports are very efficient when it comes to teaching children how to cooperate with each other. Through a competitive environment, children develop teamwork skills, self-esteem and strategising. For example, students can have many opportunities to recognise the strengths as well as the shortcomings of each team member which can be used to better compete against their opponents, especially in sports with more than 5 participants such as football, volleyball and basketball. Moreover, playing sports also stimulates a working environment where people work towards a common goal together. Thus, pupils learn how to work together more effectively when they engage in these sporting activities. On the other hand, there are many different ways for children to learn teamwork. They can acquire these skills through tasks or even games while studying in classes. For instance, teachers can encourage cooperation through grouping so that students realise teamwork is the only way to benefit themselves and reach their quotas. Additionally, assigning projects or presentations to students is another effective way. By doing this, children will have to divide work among themselves to make sure that the workload suits the capabilities of each member. As a result, they will learn more about teamwork because they might fail the assignment if one or some of them refuse to work. In conclusion, team sports and all the work in classes contributed to the development of teamwork for children. However, there is no clear evidence of which way is superior to the others so it cannot be concluded that playing sports is the best way to promote collaboration among children.