Some people believe that the arts should receive money from government and big companies. Others feel such spending is a luxury and that it would be better if it were invested in scientific projects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is commonly thought that art should be sponsored by authorities and large corporations. However, this topic has been a reason for discussion and there are various controversial views on that, such as donating money to art is a rash decision in the same way it would be better to invest it in scientific investigations. On the one hand, money may seem a valuable thing for the arts because it gives an opportunity to humans to extend their talents. Firstly, with a significant amount of money people can see each and every masterpiece that is located all around the world, namely, various paintings, sculptures and ancient buildings. This broadens individuals’ mindsets and that is why the government should invest more in art in order to give the proper understanding of visual arts to its residents. Secondly, if humans are surrounded by art their mental health might be improved, consequently people will suffer less from different severe diseases. For instance, if someone feels depressed, attendance at any art gallery may enhance one’s mood and even improve the general well-being of an individual. In contrast, scientific projects may need financial support even more in an effort to perform all the research. First of all, environmental issues have been increasing significantly in recent years, thus, huge quantities of money have to be invested there to find out various ways to tackle this problem. Moreover, successful projects that are done by scientists will also expand individuals’ knowledge about science, space, ancient history and numerous other things that will benefit their future lives. Hence, if big companies allocate money to scientific research, more investigations and discoveries will be done in order to help our planet. In conclusion, nevertheless, financial support is required by both scientists and artists, I reckon that more money has to be donated to scientific experiments if we want to enlarge our knowledge and live a peaceful life without problems such as global warming.