Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Some people suggest that the circumstances of a crime and the reason for committing it should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

When it comes to punishing crimes, there's a debate about having set penalties for each type of crime or considering the circumstances and reasons behind the crime. Both sides have their good points. In the following essay, I will explain both sides and give my opinion. First of all, people who like fixed punishments say they bring consistency and clear rules to the legal arrangement. By giving specific sentences to specific crimes, people know the consequences in advance, which might stop people from committing crimes. For instance, it also makes it less likely that people will be treated unfairly. Secondly, others who like considering circumstances and motives argue for a fairer justice system. They say that not all crimes are the same, and the reasons behind each case can be very different. For example, stealing to survive is different from stealing just because you want something. By thinking about these things, the legal system can make sure that punishments are right for each crime. In conclusion, the debate between fixed punishments and thinking about circumstances and motives is not easy. By trying to do both things, we can have a justice system that doesn't just punish but also tries to be fair and help people change. In my opinion, sticking only to fixed punishments might make things too simple and not think about how people act. But it's important to have some rules to make sure things are fair. So, a middle-of-the-road approach that uses basic rules but can change them depending on the situation seems like the best choice. This way, we keep things fair and make sure that bad crimes get the right punishments.