It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

People have different views on whether taking risks is advantageous for people or not. While there are many benefits to engaging in adventurous activities, I do believe that the advantages are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, it is advantageous to get involved in these adventurous activities to some extent. Firstly, in the realm of business, entrepreneurs who dare to invest in such uncharted territories can reap substantial rewards. This is evident in the successful stories of tech giants including Apple and Amazon, which flourished because of their willingness to take calculated risks. Besides, in personal lives, those who are willing to step out of their comfort zones foster resilience and adaptability. For instance, individuals who decide to relocate to foreign countries often develop cross-cultural skills and a broader worldview, which can be invaluable assets in an interconnected global society. However, taking risks would also pose a severe threat to risk-takers. To begin with, it is usually related to degraded financial stability. If an entrepreneur makes a poorly calculated investment, there will be unexpected consequences waiting for him including bankruptcy. What’s more, some impulsive career changes would exert detrimental impacts on employees including their incomes and promotion opportunities. Last but not least, due to risky behaviours, people would be trapped in regret, disillusionment, and even depression. In conclusion, I can understand the reason why individuals tip the balance in favour of being involved in activities full of hazards both in their professional and personal lives, but I would argue that there are more drawbacks than benefits.