Environmental issues such as climate change have always been an international problem because governments are not imposing harsh punishments against offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Support your answer with specific reasons and examples.

A debate about the primary reasons leading to environmental problems has been prevalent in the community. While those cast some doubt on the intensity of lawbreakers’ legal punishments, the government still plays an essential role in tackling such a controversial issue. This essay will prove why raising awareness among citizens living in the same country is still far more crucial to handling the underlying causes of this. To begin with, it is essential to acknowledge that the governments have realized the severity of environmental-related issues and have taken some forward steps to combat this catastrophe. These approaches would involve controlling emissions from factories or other polluted industrial areas, which exert negative impacts on residential areas. For example, if the housing areas are highly polluting according to some measurements, the authority might be willing to have some beneficial schemes for citizens to allocate to other eco-friendly locations and equip them with financial and funding support. However, from my perspective, these effective methods are not always efficient in preventing the root causes of the problem. On the other hand, informed citizens are more likely to foster a culture of environmental preservation where individuals can immerse themselves in a cluster of practical and lifelong lessons and skills. Owing to the wide range of knowledge about climate change or how it exacerbates our nature in the long run, individuals can purely focus on addressing the underlying causes of the issue, such as stopping littering, securing sign boards in public places, and spreading reliable sources related to ecological issues via social media platforms. In my opinion, this helps maintain the balance of ecosystems and enhances one’s living standards, which will never be replaced by the consequences of severe fines against the offenders. To summarize, it is evident that, though some governments still impose threats on those who commit crimes related to the environment, they have to face obstacles in actively attacking the underlying reasons leading to this plausible issue. In my point of view, raising the perception in every corner of the community still serves as a preservative treatment to not only provide an essential knowledge base but also real-life methods to address the root causes.