Nowadays , distance- learning programs have gained in popularity , but some people argue that online courses can never be taken as good as those taken at college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of people taking online programs. However, some people believe that distance learning courses can never be taken as well as those taken at college or university person. In fact, I firmly agree online courses cannot be as good as offline classes for two reasons. The main reason is students can be easily distracted. Distance learning allows college students to learn whenever and wherever they want. However, this situation is not always suitable for them. They can be easily distracted by their surroundings. For instance, pupils can be bothered by their siblings when having online classes. Thus, the college students can not fully absorb the learning materials. Moreover, sometimes it is hard to find suitable places to study. They have to make more effort in distance learning than taking the offline one. It makes the pupils have to find a quiet place before starting the class. The following reason is an internet network problem. Online classes require a good connection. However, the internet connection cannot be always stable. Pupils can have difficulty connecting to the internet. For instance, while listening to the presentation, university students can get buffering. Consequently, they skip the class and have to catch up on the material after class. It will be more time-consuming rather than taking the offline class. To sum up, not only distraction can be caused by distance learning, but also by internet connection problems. These situations make university students can not get the whole information and skip some classes. Having considered the drawbacks, I am strongly convinced that online classes cannot be as well as offline classes.