Universities should take the same number of men and women in each major. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, education has become an egalitarian environment, in which everyone has the same rights and the same opportunities, notably the university. The academy is one of the options for students after graduating from high school, who want to study a higher education program. It is a place to enhance knowledge and skills for undergraduates to work in the future and research in scientific fields. Nowadays, people debate about balancing the number of men and women in each major. In my opinion, I strongly believe that admission should be based on the knowledge and interests of students rather than gender. Students ’ test scores should become one of the essential criteria for admission to universities. Educational institutions should enrol students with grades from high to low to ensure the quality of output as well as input. If universities balance gender in majors, it could lead to a competency gap because,with the same mark, male students can pass while female students cannot and vice versa. For instance, many majors at the top academy in Vietnam such as medicine and pedagogy often get very high scores to ensure that the students after graduation can do well in their jobs such as healing or teaching. So, marks should become the criteria of universities rather than gender balance in majors. On the other hand, universities must consider students ’ preferences for majors. Because personality and health differences vary between sexes, male and female students often have different occupations. For instance, women often choose nursing while men choose to be engineers. Therefore, gender quality in several domains is implausible. Inclusion, and gender balance are important, but in the education environment, educational institutions should select candidates by testing their knowledge and passion. I think in educational institutions, quality is still more important than quantity.