In their advertisements, business nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It cannot be denied that to some extent many companies in the contemporary market try to promote their products and services as new. I am of the view that competition is one of the major causes of this trend and I think it is a kind of positive development. Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why business owners try to establish their products as new and unique. Firstly, they try to attract young customers. For instance, young individuals always try to experience new products and modern facilities. So companies consciously re-brand their products as new ones. It's a part of their marketing strategy. Secondly, in this very era of globalization, people have access to the Internet. As a result, individuals can easily learn a lot about the different kinds of products from foreign markets. It is a threat to local companies. For this reason, maybe local business owners introduce their products such as fizzy drinks, and kitchen gadgets as new and significant though most of the time these are overstatements and gimmicks. From a particular point of view, I think this is a positive development for industries. First of all, in this era of social media and YouTube, there are so many vloggers and online influencers who regularly review products on their pages. If a company declares a product as new, it should provide sufficient documents and information to support its claim. Otherwise, social media reviewers or even regular online netizens can criticize negatively. As a result, the company could lose their face value and people could boycott its product. This scenario helps companies to become more genuine. Furthermore, when most companies try to launch new products it will increase healthy competition in the market. Consumers can get benefit from this such as they can get a new and fresh product as well as new offers. In conclusion, I want to say that if companies do not improve the quality of their products, only marketing gimmicks such as branding products as new will not help them as a whole.