Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure, and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Information technology has touched society in a vast amount of aspects in everyday lives. This essay will explore the pros and cons of this and will conclude with why the benefits carry more weight. Looking at the advantages first of all, computers have made people’s lives much easier, particularly it has been possible to miniaturise objects in comparison to the past. For example, telephones have now become more compact and slimmer over time, as humans demand more portable and hand-free objects, helping people to become more sufficient and productive. Another advantage is that there is more interconnectivity than ever before. With the assistance of social media applications, people are able to connect with others from all over the world, which is faster than ever before, with citizens sharing information at the speed of light. This has contributed to the betterment of the human race overall. However, a few challenges exist with the use of information technology. Studies have shown that people have become more reliable and dependent on smart phones and other devices than ever before as it has made life easierAs a results, scientists fear that the human race can be easily controlled, become vulnerable and lost if they ever stop working. Another threat posed by information technology is the new and potential dangers of the use of it,with hacking being one of the most apparent ones. This is due to millions of people’s information being stored in the cloud and a few criminal organizations have got the ability to access them. This poses a great danger to user privacy becoming compromised. In my opinion, the benefits of information technology do surpass the disadvantages, for the reason that everyone’s future depends on it very much. This is because it aids humans in thriving, plus a strong foundation is needed for the protection from danger.