The main reason for the high sale of consumer goods in today’s society is advertising. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that the increase in today's daily product consumption is due to the influence of advertisements. I totally agree with this phenomenon as I will provide with reasoning in the following essay. In the past, people might have decided to buy consumer goods based on the actual needs of their households. Most people would not have bought goods that are not necessary or things that are only fashionable. It probably resulted from weaker advertising campaigns compared to how it is nowadays. The crucial factor that plays a role in today's advertising is social media since it is accessible to people of all ages and genders. Companies can release as many ads as they want on the online platforms to attract people's attention. They can advertise directly via certain times between entertainment show programmes or news sections, while sometimes they can do it very subtly during any online shows. Moreover, social media platforms like Facebook and TikTok are also promoting content with advertisements. The longer an individual stays online, the more likely he may find interesting products and end up buying them. Another important factor that makes people consume more goods is online influencers like TV stars, singers, or popular individuals who get paid to endorse certain products. People especially the younger generation are more prone to believing in this kind of content because they want to look as fashionable as the rest of their peers. This might lead to overspending and poor budget management among societies. In conclusion, I totally believe that advertising plays a pivotal role in leading people to buy more products due to changes in advertisement styles and the rapid growth of social media. Communities should be aware of the power of this strategy brought by the producers or else they will have a big problem managing their expenses.