Money spent on space exploration is a complete waste. Governments could better spend this money on other things to benefit the nation. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Space exploration has a growing interest, as money is spent on space travelling, it opens up new areas to discover. However, some people consider that instead of spending money on space travel, governments should distribute financial resources to improve the well-being of the nation. I completely agree that financial support should be invested in our society to improve the standard of living in each country. Initially, according to the hard work of scientists in the field of space exploration, more and more possibilities are available for journeys to other planets in the universe, such as fulfilling the life-long dream of travelling to Mars or conducting further experiments. These luxurious voyages are affordable only for a few affluent people. Everyone has the right to decide about their own income and how to spend; however, this should not be a government responsibility. Moreover, humankind still has to face significant problems, such as natural disasters, diseases, and viruses, as well as millions of people in third-world countries suffering from famine or insufficient water purity. Besides, the social security system and accessibility to education are not available for everyone in some countries. One possible solution would be to distribute tax income and other funds so that the government can offer a helping hand to less privileged people by providing access to free higher education and medical care. Some people suggest, that if societies were to improve the health and education system, as a consequence the standard of living would significantly increase. Furthermore, there is research and investment in sustainability aimed at decreasing global warming to prevent natural disasters. Another possible solution would be to spend government funds on this experiment in order to increase the security of mankind. For instance, nowadays we see an increasing number of tsunamis hitting oceanic countries such as Indonesia, where natural disasters have fatal consequences. Cooperation between countries and the allocation of government resources would enhance sustainability and, as a result, save lives. In conclusion, exploration of the universe is a new area, nevertheless extremely costly, and probably would not be worth spending an exorbitant amount of money on it. In my point of view, education, health care, building an advanced social security system as well as improving sustainability would be extraordinarily beneficial for all nations.