In some cities, public parks and open spaces are changed into gardens where local residents can grow their own fruit and vegetables. Do you think the benefits outweigh the disadvantages?

Turning public parks and open areas in some cities into gardens so that locals grow their fruit and vegetables has become a common practice these days. Although this trend does have some negatives, they are outstripped by a number of benefits it brings about. Admittedly, there are a couple of drawbacks associated with changing parks and open spaces into gardens for growing food. The first one is that it is economically unviable to do so, because land in city areas is prohibitively expensive. Produce obtained from these gardens, therefore, is likely to be a lot costlier than that from rural areas. Another concern is the lack of places for people to socialize. Public parks are the ideal spots for having a picnic, playing outdoor games and just taking a stroll. If they are used by locals to grow food, they it is likely that these places tend not to have enough room these activities, which is a possible cause of public frustration. That notwithstanding, I believe that the positive effects of this trend are far more significant than its negatives. This is firstly because people can have a chance to be involved in physical activities if they are to grow something. These include weeding, ploughing the land, cultivating and harvesting, all of which require some physical work, thereby allowing city dwellers to avoid a sedentary lifestyle. Secondly, people can enjoy self-sufficiency when they have their own gardens. If put into good use, a fruit and vegetable garden can be a decent source of organic food. This, in turn, can help many people to reduce grocery expenses and provide them a sense of satisfaction for their efforts on land. In conclusion, transforming public parks as well as open areas into gardens might be disadvantageous for aesthetic and social reasons, yet I believe that these concerns are of secondary importance if we take health and economic benefits into account.