A lot of money is spent nowadays searching for oil. As the world's oil resources will eventually run out, it would be more logical to spend some of this money on developing new sources of power, such as wind and solar. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Petroleum based sources of energy have been the main focus of many industries over the last decades and although scientists had already predicted the end of this resource, a significant amount of money is still being spent to search new locations for oil extraction. This essay will discuss the cons of such strategy and evaluate the benefits of investing in alternative sources of energy. To begin with, the era of oil based fuels is reaching its limits, therefore it is crucial to start investing in other types of energy, preferably one that is more sustainable for the planet. Renewable energy such as wind and solar energy are among the most reliable sources of energy as their supply are almost unlimited. Nowadays, there are a range of modern technologies that not only harvest solar rays and convert them into energy but also store them, providing clean electricity sources to an entire community. Furthermore, wind turbines have been demonstrated to be a safer, cleaner and more steadfast type of energy than the oil ones as its supply depends entirely on the wind, a never-ending natural resource. Secondly, the benefits of these alternative sources of energy outweigh the petrol based ones. New renewable approaches to provide gas and energy are not only more sustainable to the planet but also economically better in the long run. Renewable energy does not release pollutant gases such as carbon dioxide during its exploration and production of energy, contrary to the oil industry that it is known for being outstandingly polluted and contributing to global warming. Furthermore, current technologies have drastically decreased the prices of solar panels and wind turbine even for household use which enable small areas to produce their own energy without relying on oil multinationals. In conclusion, I definitely agree with the fact that more investment is required to further develop innovative sources of power instead of oil resources. Alternative energy such as wind and solar are more sustainable, reliable and easier to invest than before. It is time to stop petroleum dependence and seek for environment-friendly and long lasting kind of power.