Taking a year of between finishing school and starting university is a waste of students' time. to what extent do you agree or disagree?

The time between school and before starting a university is a great phase in one’s life. However, there is a notion that taking a year off during that period is a waste of time. I disagree with that as it can be a great way of self-discovery and being clear about our own purpose. Firstly, teenagers need their time to think critically about themselves and to understand the workings of the world. This reflection can do wonders as it can save them from peer pressure and societal norms which leads to impulsive decisions. For example, many psychologists point out that young adults who self-reflect on a consistent basis end up being more aware of their strengths, and weaknesses. Moreover, this will make them more adaptable to any situation as they have more self-awareness. On the other hand, people will spend the majority of their time dedicated to the work so it is of utmost importance to know about one’s purpose. Being clear about it can give meaning to our life and provides an anchoring point to lead our fleeting moments here on this planet. For example, many research studies show that in the early years, the people who are more clear about their role end up making fewer bad choices that can drift them away from their mission. Overall, it provides younger individuals with something to strive for and that free time can be a great asset to be sure about it. In conclusion, based on all the discussion, I truly believe that it is better to take a pause for a few moments to gain clarity about oneself and the higher goals before embarking on this beautiful journey.