In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages

In the present time, there is a higher percentage of elderly people in many places. A lot of people would argue that they provide greater influence, however there are some that think that they only cause more casualties. In this essay, I will highlight the huge advantages of having an old population group in society. To begin with, people who belong to the elderly have more experiences in life for the reason that they have lived for many years. For instance, our grandparents can contribute to our values. They will guide our parents on how to raise us properly to become the responsible individuals that we are now. Moreover, they can directly give us answers to certain questions that we have because they already encountered it sometime in their lives. One of the disadvantages that some may point out is that they can be a burden to us. Since older people continue to age, they tend to get sickly as well and with this,notion some would say that they only cause more problems in terms of bringing them to hospital to get treatment will only result in spending more money, time, and effort. However, in my,opinion this act of kindness towards them is nothing in comparison to their hardships in raising and providing a better life for us. In conclusion, there might be one to two disadvantages of having more elder people around for the reason that their health becomes poor and they move slowly, nevertheless the advantages prevail over it because they have contributed many things for us to have satisfactory and bearable life.