Nowadays, most countries can improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of this phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there has been a growing debate about economic growth in certain countries. While some think that this trend offers numerous merits to the country as it enhances the quality of life, others argue that such trend brings potential downsides to national traditions. Personally, I strongly believe that the benefits of economic contributions are far more outweigh its drawbacks. To begin with, the development of the economy can improve several issues in the nation. Firstly, it provides more job opportunities and a higher employment income as a result of business growth, deterring not only unemployment issues, but also poverty problems which are the major challenges for numerous local councils. Moreover, such development directly gains government financial benefits. Thus, they can allocate more financial resources to enhance welfares and services for citizens. For example, in Germany, where their engineering industries has contributed to economic growth over the period, the administration provides less education costs for students and improve their healthcare sectors, resulting in a better basic requirement for living. On the other hand, those who are the on opposite side of economic development believe that such trend causes nation’s values to disappear. Loss of family values is the major concern for this trend as considerably business development requires a large number of staff dedicated their life on working. Many parents, therefore, lose their time to foster their children since they need to spend longer time at workplaces. Another issue is losing traditional cultures because of country development, resulting in adoption of western or developed countries’ lifestyle. As a result, certain local traditions such as traditional clothes or local food may disappear over time. In conclusion, although there are those who do not agree with economic growth as it causes family values and local cultures are gone, in my opinion, I firmly believe that such enhancement contributes various benefits to the country not only solving poverty and unemployment issues, but also services enhancement for citizens.