Today, advanced science and technology have made great changes to people’s life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us that sciences and technology cannot?

In the contemporary age, the general public’s life has been altered significantly by the consistently progressing science and technology. However, the importance of art and artists still remains at the heart of mainstream valuations. I firmly believe that there are various matters that can provided by art but hardly found in the farmer’s advancement. Admittedly, nowadays high-tech enables people to enjoy any scenery at home in the form of videos, photographs, documentaries, and related resources, yet it cannot compare with the experience of travelling by oneself. The sensation of touching a piece of fabric that contains the local culture and the force of folk artists, engaging in a dance celebration on a remote land, and witnessing an entire process of making a traditional dish cannot be offered through the internet. Furthermore, although modern innovations provide the civic body access to better living conditions in terms of transportation, housing, and health care, people also suffer from the pressure that is accompanied by the increasing life-speed. In the meanwhile, aesthetic activities have become an important approach to escape from their daily life schedule. Listening to music after work, reading a literature masterwork when they feel stressed, or going to a museum to slow down the working rhythm both consist of the most common methods to enrich daily life among the younger generation. In addition, by involving social members in different experiences like art installations, musical festivals, and reading sessions, artistic creations enable individuals to gather together instead of becoming isolated islands as scientific advancement makes people no longer need to physically engage in public activities. To recapitulate, scientific advancements and technological progress have yielded notable advantages in our every lives, while arts play an important role in enriching our spiritual world. Only when we view arts and science appropriately and judiciously can we achieve the shared ambition to form a fairer and substantial society for all individuals.