In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Starvation appears to be a prominent issue nowadays, which has not been resolved even after a rapid increase in investment in agriculture and the food industry. Monetary relationships, as a prime reason for this paradox, hinder some countries from sharing their surplus of goods gratuitously. The solution therefore lies in humanity and a rational redistribution of food in a more just and equal society. To begin with, agriculture is considered as a valuable natural resource, a competitive advantage, and its export is an integral part of international relationships. The uneven distribution of land suitable for cultivation, such as in arid areas, deprives some countries of the ability to grow food, therefore they become dependent on countries with such resources. Unfortunately, how much progress was done the humanity still cannot rule the weather or change climate radically making it more favorable. In other words, some countries, especially African once, are hostages of their geographical location. Developed countries, in turn, are unwilling to simply share their supplies so as not to lose their benefit and not to lead to overpopulation on the planet. Nevertheless, it is known that there exists overproduction of provision in some reach countries. For example, according to the recent research conducted by the University of Toronto, sixty tons of food are disposed in the world every month. Hence, reallocation of resources might be considered as a plausible solution. Developed countries should come to an agreement and contribute to the creation of a global union dedicated to providing food and fresh water to those countries who need it. What the humanity must realise is that the global food shortage problem cannot be solved without an altruistic and humanitarian approach to the issue. To conclude, the problem of provision scarcity is a consequence of market relations, which might be resolved under certain conditions. Were the governments of developed countries to sacrifice the part of their welfare, the starvation would be eradicated.