As people live longer and longer, the idea of cloning human beings in order to provide spare parts is becoming a reality. The idea horrifies most people, yet it is no longer mere science fiction. To what extent do you agree with such a procedure? Have you any reservations?

The people’s desire to live longer brought many ideas to be implemented even if they are horrifying, such as human cloning. This idea has many benefits for the sake of science and the health sector, especially to help many people cure their illnesses by replacing their body parts. Instead of considering the advantages, in my point of view, it is hard to accept this procedure from the perspectives of ethics, human rights, and religion. In the past decades, many diseases of the kidneys, heart, eyes, and other body parts have been recovered by transplantation procedures. The number of patients who needed to be cured using this treatment also rapidly increased. On the other hand, the number of donors who generously gave their organs cannot afford the demands. This condition encourages medical researchers to clone humans as a replacement for the “real” one to provide transplantation materials. However, this effort seems unethical because I consider clones, with the soul inside them, to be valuable living things. Creating and then killing them and taking their organs, even for medical purposes, are such immoral actions. Moreover, it is also contrary to the rights of humans to live on their own will. From the religious side, many religions do not allow their followers to act like God by creating living things which can cause chaos in the order of life. Therefore, I have some reservations for the stakeholders in handling this issue. Firstly, I suggest the researchers allocate their funds to enhance the research of drug and genetic medications rather than continuing the research of cloning. Then people who want to live longer, need to take preventive actions to avoid health issues such as consuming more healthy foods and adopting healthy life habits. To conclude, the human cloning topic will always be a controversy in any era. I see that the problems caused by this are bigger than the benefits, so I decline this procedure completely, and suggest humankind choose other options to pursue their desire and solve health problems.