Some people believe that the death penalty can reduce crimes. Do you agree or disagree?

Crime has increased recently in societies. Several individuals think that capital punishment may reduce offences. I believe that the death penalty does not effectively solve this issue, not only due to potential mistakes in judgment but also because of the rehabilitation of criminals. One of the most significant issues is that mistakes may be made in judgment. This is mainly due to the fact that legal systems are managed by humans who may commit judicial errors, which cannot be reversed. It becomes obvious that when judges apply the death penalty, they may cause innocent individuals to lose their lives. For example, many countries where capital punishment is applied have taken the lives of innocent citizens. As a result, capital punishment does not actually prevent major crimes. In addition, other people are in favour of the previous view, claiming that the goal of modern legal systems should be rehabilitation rather than revenge. What I mean is that killing a criminal does not address the social or physical roots of crime. I support their argument with this explanation: if governments apply rehabilitation programs for criminals, they can reintegrate into society after their prison term. For example, developed countries that have undergone long-term prison rehabilitation programs have shown deterrence to criminals and decreased re-offending. Therefore, governments must focus on rehabilitation, which promotes peace. In conclusion, although many countries show that the death penalty increases mistakes in judgment, developed countries implementing strict laws have undergone rehabilitation that has enhanced crime deterrence. In my opinion, governments must abolish capital punishment and focus on lifelong rehabilitation to ensure a more humane and effective justice system.