Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that youngsters are spending multiple hours on their mobile phones daily. In my opinion, it is mainly because of a lack of parental control, thus, I personally regarded it as a negative trend by the following description. To begin with, parents ought to take responsibility for their kids to overuse smartphones. It is prevalent among people to own mobile devices individually, including not only children but also their parents. To cite an example, 45 per cent of families worldwide have claimed that they are using their phones with their kids during dining times. Stating that youngsters can not receive the good management of phones from their parents under the circumstances of it. Hence, this results in fewer possibilities of proper management with smartphones while their parent is immersed in it as well. Finally, kids are becoming more addicted to their smartphones. Overall, as the drawbacks mentioned previously, there is another serious problem that has escalated with smartphone overuse. In Taiwan, to cite an example, 90 percent of pupils in their fifteen have diagnosed the short-sighted disorder, impacting their performance in learning subsequently. In order to relieve this phenomenon, teachers and other faculty members should take certain actions to address this issue to a certain extent. To elaborate, they can emphasize the necessity of maintaining eye health, thus, kids will be aware of the importance of eyesight. However, if people constantly discounted this problem as trivial, consequently, short-sighted disorders might gradually occur in the younger age group. To conclude, parents should endeavour to ensure their children use smartphones appropriately, including themselves. While short-sighted concern has been considered general in the contemporary world, teachers should help to avert students from smartphones being overused as well. With these concerns, I think this trend is a negative development.