Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development? Currently, a vast majority of patients try other options rather than visiting medical practitioners to treat their illnesses. Although this trend might have dome merits, I believe that its demerits outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, some people support alternative methods, due to some reasons. Mainly, the various side effects that some prescribed medicines have, discourage patients from taking them. For example, the medications which are prescribed by psychiatric for treating mental problems, such as depression or anxiety, have a wide range of side effects like scary illusions, losing appetite, obesity, insomnia or over sleeping. Consequently, individuals avoid visiting their doctors, because they have fear of taking the doctors suggested medicines. On the other hand, I assume that using these alternatives may bring about negative consequences. Initially, some of the people who claim that can treat people through some conventional methods, such as herbal medicines, are just frauds who have not even basic knowledge about human’s body, thus they would worsen patients’ situation. To illustrate, some individuals are allergic to specific types of herbs and nutrition, and if the offered herbal combination contains even a little bit of that substance, it can cause a terrible allergic reaction. Moreover, just professional people in health system are able to diagnose major diseases by means of their own knowledge, or conducting medical test such as urine culture, and no other option can do this crucial responsibility. To illustrate, some parents think that when kids have a stomachache it is normal to apply self-treatment and trusting their own knowledge, while they might be a serious problem like appendices, which requires professional aid instead of home-based solutions. In conclusion, I opine that this trend may not only cause some major health issues because of being seduced by unprofessional frauds but also, might lead to wrong diagnosis and late reactions, which might even be fatal. Hence, it is a negative development rather than being positive.