Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The money spent by governments on roads would be better allocated to railways. I completely agree with this point of view because railways are more environmentally-friendly and also safer than roads. To begin with, the funds should be allocated to railways because it encourages green travel. Take subways for example, they have a larger capacity that can transport a magnitude number of cargos and people at once, equivalent to many times greater than cars. This can contribute to reducing carbon footprint and further mitigate global warming. If governments allocate money to subways to help people get around easier, they might choose to use them as their major means of transportation rather than cars. Moreover, railways help people to travel safer because means of transportation that run on railways are not affected by weather conditions. They are designed to run on tracks, which provides a stable surface for them to travel on, no matter the weather. Thus, they typically have little trouble through severe weather conditions like heavy rain, snow and strong winds that helps them be less prone to weather-related accidents. For instance, in 2012, more than 35,000 people died as passengers in cars, 449 in mostly general-aviation aircraft and five as train passengers, according to the Bureau of Transportation Statistics. In conclusion, governments should allocate money to developing railways instead of roads. I totally agree with this idea because railways are friendly to the environment and all means of transportation that run on railways are safer than others.