More and more countries are making University education completely free for their citizens. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Many nations are making college education totally free for their population. The benefits are high literacy among the poor and economic growth of the country whereas the drawbacks are spending tax money on non-taxpayers and an extra burden on the government. The first benefit is the rise in the educated population among the poor. In other words, if university-level studies were free of cost, poor people who cannot afford them would be able to do it. Another benefit is an increase in the country's economic growth. This is because they would have more earning citizens, and as a result, the GDP of the nation would increase. For instance, Japan has announced free education for all at the university level, and their GDP rose almost double in one year. On the other hand, the one drawback is spending tax money on those who do not pay taxes. That is to say, most of the university students do not pay tax and it might lead to grudges among those who pay tax towards the state. Another drawback is it would create a financial burden on the authorities. This is because many expenses would have to be delayed to pay the fees and rent of colleges. For instance, in 2020, Singapore applied this free education policy, however, it hugely impacted the infrastructure development of the nation. In conclusion, many countries are making university-level education free for all. The merits are the increase in literacy among the poor and the economic growth of the country, and the demerits are using tax payer's money on others and a financial burden on the government.