In many professional sports, there is an increase in the number of athletes using banned substances to improve their performance. What are the causes of the phenomenon and what are some of the possible solutions?

It is true that the number of athletes using banned medicines to accelerate their performance has been increasing in several professional sports. In this essay, I will explain why this happened and outline feasible actions. There are, I feel, two main reasons. Firstly, they do not have an awareness of the consequences of taking banned substances. When some young athletes take part in the competition at an early age, they do not have much experience in it and might well be tempted to take some banned stuff to enhance their chances of winning. What this does is make it extremely detrimental. Secondly, they may well achieve an excellent result by taking banned medicines with nobody knowing it. Sun Yang, for instance, who is a professional sportsman, once claimed that he can easily pass the test of authorities even taking some banned medicines. As such, other athletes are persuaded to consume banned substances, which is why nowadays more and more athletes take risks to try to break a rule. However, I believe there are still viable steps to tackle this issue. One of them could be the authorities providing an educational campaign to raise athletes overall awareness. For example, in Finland, their sports council lobbied their professional members on the danger of using banned substances, enabling their athletes to understand the serious outcome, and this ultimately resulted in a dramatic decrease in the number of athletes who use banned stuff. Another action is introducing more advanced techniques to test banned substances. If the testing machines are more advanced, they can detect more accurately, and this creates a sense of warning and is potentially incredibly crucial. In conclusion, while there is a growing trend of athletes using banned substances, I believe that measures can be taken to resolve this.