Students should spend time working before beginning their university studies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common view that young people should find work between leaving school and starting university for their own personal development. It is the opinion of this writer that students will benefit from gaining employment before continuing with their academic studies at university. One of the most important reasons is to gain work experience, which can provide graduates with a significant advantage when applying for a future career. Employers today are searching for candidates who stand out from the crowd, and by demonstrating a proven work history, young people can show they already possess the relevant skills and experience to become a suitable employee. In an increasingly competitive job market, where most applicants already have university qualifications, it is necessary to offer something else in order to attract the attention of potential employers. Another salient point is that young people can become financially independent by finding a job straight after school. Earning a salary means no longer relying on parents or family for financial support, plus they will understand the value of money by realising how long it takes to save for things they can not afford. For instance, a student employed in a restaurant may have to work many months in order to purchase a new smartphone. This experience will also benefit them in the future and ensure they appreciate earning a higher salary after graduating from university. To summarise, there are a number of advantages for students who choose to work before starting university. In particular, having the opportunity to gain skills and experience that could not be learnt in a place of education. This can set them on the path to a brighter future.