24.In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst the younger generation. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

It is true that there is an increasing trend of young people buying second-hand clothing in precent-day society. In this essay, I will explain the reasons behind this phenomenon, and I believe that it is a positive development. There are some reasons why young people prefer to buy old clothes today and perhaps the most obvious one is that they have a strong desire to copy their idols, despite they sometimes cannot afford the original price. When youngsters still in their studies or just begin to work, they usually lack money to purchase a luxury item especially clothes that famous artists wear. For example, my niece Lily, who is 16, loves to buy second-hand clothing, enabling her to imitate her favorite star in an affordable way, and this ultimately results in an increased number of young ones buying second-hand clothing. However, I feel this is a positive trend. One reason is that it helps young people save money. If they buy second-hand clothes, the price of clothes may well be half of a new one, and this allows them to save an amount of money and spend on something more essential and is potentially absolutely beneficial. Another compelling reason is that the Internet provides a platform for individuals to sell their old clothes. App called Xian Yu, for instance, which is a popular online platform for selling second-hand products in China, offers an easy way for the public to sell their non-use personal items. As such, it is much easier and more effective for people to buy second-hand things from others, which is why buying second-hand clothes has become so popular in today’s era. In conclusion, the reasons for growing popularities of buying second-hand clothes especially young generations are clear, and I believe it is a trend that benefits individuals.