Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative a negative development?

Nowadays, juveniles spend most of their time a day, working with their technological devices. Smartphones are popular among young children, due to various reasons. Primarily, they can watch and stream their favourite animations and movies either for free or by just paying a little part of their pocket money. For example, kids are able to watch the latest cartoons and films by means of well-known streaming applications such as Netflix or YouTube. Moreover, by means of cell phones, they are able to conduct their desirable leisure activities. To illustrate, there are numerous online games such as Roblox which they can play with their friend in a virtual platform and even make new connections. Consequently, these devices are highly popular among juveniles, thus they spend most of their time working with them. From my perspective, the negative aspects of this development outweigh its positive ones. Initially, adolescents spend most of their daily hours on their smartphones, therefore they have little motivation to get involved in physical and outdoor activities, which can lead to major medical problems. To illustrate, the statistics demonstrate that the rate of obesity has jumped in comparison to 20 years ago among juveniles, as a result of sitting in front of screens and being less physically active. Additionally, the more children get involved in the virtual world, the more isolated they become; because they are stuck in their virtual connections instead of going out and making real friends, which can lead to depression and problems in socializing and building up beneficial friendships. To exemplify, most adolescents nowadays, have problems finding friends in face-to-face connections at school, and feel much more isolated and anxious than before. In conclusion, I believe that smartphones are intriguing because children can not only watch their favourite movies via streaming applications but also, they can pursue their hobbies by means of them. Furthermore, I contemplate it as a disadvantageous trend, due to its dreadful impacts on the physical and social aspects of their lives.