In some countries, many children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people say it is the responsibility of governments to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s modern society, many children are becoming obese and have unhealthy lifestyles. I agree with this view to a certain extent because I am firmly convinced that parents should have methods to address this issue. On the one hand, the government should adopt some approaches to decrease the overweight and unhealthy lifestyle of children. To begin with, the government should restrict the production of industrial food which has unhealthy ingredients such as sugar and oil. This is mainly because children nowadays usually consume a lot of industrial food and fast food. This will lead to their bodies absorbing too many fatty molecules. In addition, some physical competitions such as aerobics and athletics could be organized for students with funding from the government. As a result, students would have conditions to train and improve their health. On the other hand, I firmly believe that tackling this problem should be the main responsibility of parents. First, adults can monitor their kids and educate them on the importance of eating healthy and staying fit. This is mainly because they are the closest people who have a lot of time with their children. For instance, they could limit the amount of snacks, candy and fast food in their children ’s diet. Second, parents should control time spent on social media and encourage outdoor activities for their children. This is because when children spend too much time on social media, they may become inactive. In conclusion, although the government should have approaches such as limiting the production of fatty food and organizing physical activities for children, it is my firm belief that their parents should educate them on diet and control time spent on social media.