Children nowadays watch significantly more television than in the past, which reduces their activity levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

Living in a world with cutting-edge technology, television has become an integral component of every household. It is undoubted that the younger generation spends more time watching television and less time being active. This essay will delve into the reasons for this phenomenon before providing solutions to the matter. Some reasons can explain the increased amount of time children spend on television. Firstly, the widespread of digital media contributes to children’s increased TV consumption. Televisions has become way more accessible compared to the past because of price reduction, and almost being owned by every family. Since then, children have been capable of watching a wide range of programmes and TV shows at their fingertips. The variety and convenience make it appealing to children to spend more time on the blue screen. Another reason for the increase in television viewing among youngsters is related to the busy lifestyle of modern families. Parents usually have demanding work with a hectic schedule and lack time for family activities and supervision. As a result, children dedicate more time to television, which has become their source of entertainment and companionship. To address the issue, several approaches can be adopted. One of the ways is that the government and schools should hold more sports competitions, extracurricular activities and campaigns. By immersing students in diverse activities, it can not only increase their awareness on the importance of a balanced and active lifestyle, but also help them develop their own interests that divert their attention away from television. In addition, parents bear a large responsibility for monitoring their children’s behaviour. They should set up clear guidelines and reasonable limits on their children’s use of television. In conclusion, increased accessibility and changes in modern lifestyle have led to children’s dependence on or even excessive use of television. It is crucial for the general public to recognize and take proactive measures on the problem to ensure the healthy growth of the next generation.