Reading for pleasure can develop imagination and language skills better than watching TV. To what extent you agree or disagree?

There is a preference for reading articles over watching TV as a learning speech resource. Some people believe that reading can expand their thinking and language abilities while others hold the opposite point of view. I agree with the former, and in the following paragraphs, I am going to discuss both viewpoints. First and foremost, many language learners may choose books or novels as their leisure activities in order to expand their vocabulary and writing skills. Besides, different cultures' citizens may have their own ways of thinking, thus, selecting their countries’ authors’ articles or reading newspapers may also understand how they make decisions. Furthermore, many adult novels or articles do not include a lot of images, so learners can use their imagination to enjoy reading them. On the other hand, foreign television programs may help audiences to learn different ways to communicate in different countries, especially for new immigrants who desire to study or work abroad. However, an entry-level language learner may open subtitles to understand the actors’ speeches. As a result, these students are still reading while they are watching these programs. Moreover, they are passively learning without thinking while they are watching. In conclusion, gaining knowledge from different television programs may not effectively develop linguistic skills, yet expanding new vocabulary, imagination, and writing skills can be learned through reading books. Hence, choosing reading as entertainment may develop linguistic abilities and thinking ways better and faster than watching TV.