Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since there is computer technology. Do you disagree or agree?

In the era of the technological rapid advancement, there is a school of thought holding that pulic libraries are becoming financial burden for government as the information can easily be assessed online. I totally disagree with this opinion due to undeniable benefits of public libraries. It is understandable that many people subscribe to the elimination of public libraries for some valid reasons. Firstly,Convenience is the most pivotal reason making online sources of information prevalent today as digital devices allow human to access online information instantly through simple clicks. Therefore, It is wholly beneficial to those who have hectic schedule and cannot travel to the local libraries. However, I contend that the aforementioned opinion is flawed to some extents. First and foremost, not everyone can afford smart digital devices and connect to the high-speed Internet.Nowadays, public libraries are equipped with a huge arrays of information resources and high-tech devices such as expensive computers with various sofware applications supporting data research. This inclusivity is of assistance to economically disadvantaged people, specifically, brings them opportunities to gain access to digital literacy, seek for job online, participate in online social networks. Moreover, Internet is flooded with information but not all of is accurate and reliable. In contrast, public libraries curate their collections to ensure the information is authenticated and reliable. While misinformation are bombarding on the internet, libraries remains a bastion of trustworthy information. Additionally, public libraries are more than repositories of knowledge; they serve as community hubs that foster social interaction and engagement. They organize events, workshops, book clubs, and lectures that bring people together for shared learning experiences. These activities promote social cohesion, combat isolation, and nurture a sense of belonging that cannot be replicated by computer technology alone In conclusion, Online information undoubtedly brings a lot of advantages for information researchers but the assertion that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money oversimplify their significance