More and more business meetings are taking place online. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, with the rapid development of technology, most business meetings are held online. Online meetings benefit people’s daily life a lot but there will be some drawbacks. On the one hand, one evident benefit to holding online conferences is that it would be more convenient and flexible for people from different cities or countries to join. In other words, when the employers or the staff is on business, they can ensure the regular operation of the company through the meeting which is held online. For example, due to the sudden outbreak of COVID-19 in China, many employees who celebrated the Spring Festival in their hometown could not return to the company on time, so the manager shared the emergency plan with the staff via online conference in order to keep the company on track. Furthermore, online meetings can often be quickly recorded for subsequent review, sharing, and dissemination, enhancing the long-term value of the meeting. Therefore, employees can consolidate the content of the meeting at any time through online meetings and work more efficiently. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to online meetings. Firstly, it is more Internet-dependent and requires higher network stability and speed, so online meetings are not friendly to employees in remote areas. Secondly, employee participation in online meetings is generally low, affecting the effectiveness of the meeting. For instance, for the workers who join the meeting at home, it can be difficult to focus as their attention can easily be affected by family members or pets. As a result, they are less productive. Hence, some online meetings are quite inefficient. In conclusion, while there are plus points to online meetings, the shortcomings can't be ignored. Online meetings would bring more profits to the company If the company can ensure the stability of its labour network and a high level of labour participation.