Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art has been an essential part of humankind's development. It can be proved by the different kinds of drawn shapes on cave walls and other ornaments found from ancient times. It is the opinion of some individuals that Art adds meaning and purpose to one’s life while others may simply perceive it as a form of distraction. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints and briefly share my take on the argument. To start with, for some people, art presents a sense of purpose and gives them the opportunity to contemplate the reason why they are living. Art is correlated to creativity and imagination which for some, is their bread and butter. For instance, painters, sculptors or designers may rely on art as it drives them to continue what they are currently doing and even pushes them to strive harder and better. In line with this, without art, they might feel stagnant or lack a feeling of professional growth. On the other hand, other individuals see art as a simple medium of diverting themselves to other things and are not pretty much inclined to it. They may draw, paint or go to an art museum just because they feel like doing so that day, and not because they really are fascinated with it. In addition, they may consider art as an alternative way of passing their time from a tedious and full of pressure kind of day. To conclude, different people have vast and different interests. Art may bring peace and a sense of motivation to one’s life. However, others might be totally different and would take art with less interest and enthusiasm which is totally fine. Personally speaking, I see art as a form of distracting myself at times. I am not really interested in arts, and drawing or painting is not my cup of tea.