Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Many schools give more importance to the courses which are related to the science field and motivate children to choose science courses, whereas youngsters are told not to opt for courses like arts and literature. I strongly believe this is a negative development because of the following reasons. Firstly, people nowadays have a misconception that art is chosen by students who can't perform well in courses like science. To put it simply, they think that many students who are not good at studies go for art. In addition to this, many successful people nowadays are famous artists, painters, writers, and actors. This clearly shows that, a person can achieve success in life by studying art as well, not only science subjects are crucial for being successful. For example, a world-famous artist named Puerto Smith was strictly stopped by his parents for selecting art as his career and he was frequently motivated by his mother to make his career in the science field because she thought that students who choose art usually fail in their life. Furthermore, another reason I disagree is that children should not be prohibited by their parents from selecting courses of their choice because if a child lacks interest in a particular field in which his parents have forced him to study he won't be able to develop interest and achieve good grades, as a result, he will fail. For example, many children fail the exam and are not promoted to another class because they are not studying the subjects of their choice. Thus, if children are allowed to choose their preferred subjects they will produce better results. In conclusion, the aforementioned reasons clearly state that it is not a good idea to motivate children to only study subjects of science because one can achieve success in other fields too. Therefore, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint.