Topic 18: Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say that it is only useful for entertainment. Discuss both views and gives your own opinion.

In this era, if there is no television, humans find it very difficult to know the current problems around the world. While it is considered by some that TV is only useful for entertainment, there are others who believe that it is just for educational purposes. The following paragraph of this essay will discuss both views and give my opinion. On the other hand, people can receive lots of knowledge through a variety of educational shows. This is because these shows provide a huge information on many aspects to people. Not only that, a survey has shown that many people said they find studying through educational programmes much more interesting than the traditional method.To do example, the program Crack'em Up has received love from viewers, especially those who love English.The format is simple but unique, this programme focuses on basic pronunciation mistakes many Vietnamese people make, guiding the audience to improve their pronunciation skills.Crack’em Up is a 30-minute programme that is useful but no less interesting, This show is for those who are always looking for the best spelling key so that native speakers can understand what they want to say. On the other hand, according to some, television ’s main purpose is to entertain. Technology has become more and more developed so this requires people to work twice as hard as usual to keep up with digital life. This leads to a lack of time to spend with their families. Thus, television plays a significant role in allowing their free time for each member to sit together and watch it. And of course, most people prefer watching entertainment programmes to watching kinds of educational ones. For instance, a government survey has shown that due to the fact that many shows shown on television can be easily accessed by audiences and suit all ages, most viewers rely on such channels to reduce their stress levels from their daily work-life routine and charge the batteries for the next hard-working day. Therefore, I am convinced by the idea of using television for entertainment. In conclusion, while television sets provide quite a huge information through many shows, I would side with those who believe the main reason for TV is for entertainment.