The values that we learn from our parents and family have greater influence on our future success than knowledge and skills we learn at school. Agree or disagee?

Success is determined by many factors. Some believes the values taught by one’s upbringing plays a key role. Others are of the belief that knowledge and skills one learns at school are more important. In my opinion, both of the factors are equally important. Firstly, our parents and family always have great influence on us. Children are akin to a blank sheet, they often learn by observing their environments. Hence, parents have to be a good role model in order for children to form the correct attitude. Parents who portray perseverance in challenging times is a good example to children not to give up easily. As a result, children then carry these good mentalities in their life and it is useful in helping them to get through the tough times and ultimately achieve success. Secondly, to succeed, formal education plays a vital role too. School equips children with the right knowledge and skills in order for them to thrive in the societies. From different languages to mathematics to science subjects, the purpose of education is to prepare the necessary human resources for the future. Many times, a well-educated fresher has better opportunities to be hired compared to their peers who have poor grades. A good start in career means higher chance on being successful in life. Upon considering the views of both sides, personally I am in the opinion of both the values we learn from our upbringings and the knowledge we pick up from school contribute significantly to our future success. They complement each other. A brainy person without the right attitude is hard to succeed. For example, a colleague who has great on-the-job knowledge but lacking of integrity is unlikely to be at top of ladder. In conclusion, both values from family and knowledge from school are necessary to achieve success. With either of the element missing will be like trying to clap with one hand. Both of these have to be complementing each other for greater output.