PLastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solved the problem.

The usage of plastic has been on a significant rise in recent years across industries owing to its cost-effectiveness. Consequently, plastic commodities like bags, containers and water bottle usage have risen at an alarming rate posing an environmental threat. This essay will discuss problems caused due to its non-biodegradable nature, and health risks posed to plants and animals. This essay will also list how governmental actions and intervention at an individual level are the need of the hour to mitigate such risks. Harms caused to the environment, flora and fauna due to plastic waste are irrevocable because of their deadly nature. Owing to its non-biodegradable nature, plastic remains on earth for thousands of years resulting in stockpiles of trash in the dump yards. The largest dump yard site in Nevada, for instance, has shown a significant deterioration in underground water quality levels due to the phenomenon of leeching caused by chemical seepage. Additionally, the burning of plastics releases a tremendous amount of air pollutants in the air which in turn becomes the major source of deadly diseases like Asthma and Lung cancer. Lastly, loose plastic can cause internal lung failure in stray cattle when they eat rubbish from the streets, which consequently can be a source of major epidemics for humans. A concerted effort from both the government and individuals is the need of the hour to mitigate the risks of plastic usage. Enforcing stricter rules of banning plastic usage by the firms and penalising shoppers heavily upon catching them with plastic, will result in a drastic reduction in plastic consumption. Moreover, governments should incentivise companies, and shoppers to promote paper bags, and cloth bags as they are biodegradable. India, for instance, banned plastic usage in 2015 resulting in not only the conservation of an environment but also promoting local paper and cloth businesses benefitting the economy. In conclusion, the use of plastic is detrimental to the environment's sustainability and conservation due to its non-biodegradable nature, however with concerted efforts from the government to ban its use and also by teaching individuals about using alternative biodegradable sources will reap huge benefits for the generations to come.